Sarah Joy wins prestigious Lilly Endowment Scholarship

Sarah Joy wins prestigious Lilly Endowment Scholarship

Sarah Joy was recently announced the winner of the prestigious Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. She is one of three high school students from across Elkhart County to earn the full-tuition scholarship.

Joy, the daughter of Michelle and Paul Roell and Preston Joy, is involved in marching and concert band, jazz band, choir, pep band, National Honors Society, Key Club, and Dollars for Scholars, and also participates in musicals at Concord High School.

Her future plans are to attend a four-year college and major in music therapy with a possible double major in psychology. Her career goal is to open a practice as either a music therapist or a family/childhood counselor.

“Winning this scholarship would help me achieve my dreams and goals for the future without my family and I needing to worry about cost,” Joy said. “It would be a true blessing to be able to do what I love for the rest of my life, and this scholarship would definitely bring me a lot closer to that opportunity.”

Three students from Elkhart County will receive Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships entitling them to full tuition, fees and $900 a year for required books and equipment to any accredited public or private nonprofit college or university in Indiana, according to a news release from the Community Foundation of Elkhart County. The selected students are: Hannah Dervin, Fairfield; Araceli Martinez, NorthWood; and Sarah Joy, Concord.

In addition, the Community Foundation also awarded the Guy David Gundlach Memorial Scholarship to the following six students: Cristian De Santos Salazar, Elkhart Central; Kimberly Hernandez Corona, Elkhart Christian; Kimberly Jarrell, Elkhart Memorial; Hannah LaFary, Goshen; Cassidy Overholt, Northridge; and Elizabeth Turpin, Jimtown.


Past Concord High School winners include:

  • Alexa Porter, 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship
  • Steven Fields, 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship
  • Lizbeth Celis, 2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship
  • Jocelyn Chupp, 2016 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship
  • Spenser Jaenichen, 2015 Guy David Gundlach Memorial Scholarship
  • Luis Sotelo Martin, 2014 Guy David Gundlach Memorial Scholarship
  • Carmen Heredia, 2012 Guy David Gundlach Memorial Scholarship

Concord Community Schools closure informationCLICK HERE
+ +